Where should I be looking for a new job...?

MattW

I've been working at a retail store for about three years, now. It's the only job I've ever had, and I only intended it to be a transitional thing, until I could finish college and find something better. But, I've been dragging my feet through college, and I can't figure out what I want to do, but I'm sick of working in retail. I absolutely completely hate it, and I want to do something else now, but I'm under the assumption that, without a college degree (and being that I have no other particular skills or qualifications), the only jobs I'd be able to get are other retail or service jobs.

At the same time, I don't want to just quit my job, because it's steady part time work, and I need the paycheck to get by, really. But I just don't know where to look for work that I'd actually be considered for. I sure as hell don't want to end up being a retail "lifer", but my college aspirations are still very uncertain, and like I said, I don't have any other skills or qualifications. So where does that leave me?

What about doing some volunteer work in a field that interests you? Then you'll gain some skills which may lead to a paying job. Everybody has SOME skillset. What are you good at? Even in the retail job you have - what parts are you particularly good in?

What about doing some volunteer work in a field that interests you? Then you'll gain some skills which may lead to a paying job. Everybody has SOME skillset. What are you good at? Even in the retail job you have - what parts are you particularly good in?