What do you do when you're already dead inside?

MattW

Let me preface this by saying that I'm not to the point where I'm considering taking my own life, nor do I think I will ever be at that point. But more and more, I just feel like there's nothing in this life for me. I feel like my existence is completely pointless. I have no motivation to do anything, nor have I had any motivation for a very long time. Even the simple things I used to find it enjoyment in, like music, none of it really does anything for me anymore. I have no one in my life that I feel I can trust or relate to; my family has greatly let me down, and I absolutely suck at connecting with other people and creating and maintaining friendships.

As far as life goes, I feel trapped in an endless, hellish cycle. I've been working part time in retail for over three years now, and I absolutely *hate* working in retail. There's too much frustration in it, and it just feels like I've been doing the same menial tasks for three years now, while everyone else that gets hired somehow gets to jump ahead of me and do different things. I suppose I could look for another job, but I haven't graduated college yet, and I have no skills or qualifications to do anything else.

College is another issue altogether. I've spent three, going on four, years now, basically taking classes aimlessly at a community college. I just can't find anything that sticks, something I really want to pursue, and do with my life. What's worse is, there's a very good chance I'm going to have to quit school, because for whatever reason, I'm no longer getting financial aid (despite the fact that my grades have always been pretty good, and there has only been one semester that I was just under the required hours for full time status), and I can't pay for it myself, I have no one to help me pay for it, and I don't want to take out loans, because if I keep taking classes aimlessly, I'm going to end up amassing tons and tons of debt.