Sorry, just need to vent...

MattW

Eh, I'm mostly just making this topic because I'm incredibly frustrated with my part time job. I've been working at a retail store for about two years now, part time, while going to college full time. My frustrations mostly come from management. We used to have three managers (one of them being the GM, the "main" manager). We shifted down to a two manager store (and the company terminated the manager I liked the best, who had actually even been with the company longer than the other), and the assistant manager took a promotion at another store.

The manager that was terminated, and the assistant manager, were both so easy to work with, and they were really great overall. Their departures both occurred this past spring. This leaves us with the GM, and the manager of sales. The manager of sales isn't too bad, but most of us employees have pretty much been in agreement that the GM is, well... not really the best boss. Before, though, the other managers (and assistant manager) provided sort of a buffer, so to speak. Now that they're gone, though...

Things have only really started to get bad for me, personally, pretty recently, though. From this past Wednesday on, I've been scheduled to work seven days in a row. Next week, I get one day off, and then I have to work another 7+ days in a row. I know we're getting into busier times, but that just seems like such harsh scheduling to me. Working retail isn't exactly fun, and I get burnt out on it really quickly, so only getting one day off in a span of 14+ days is pretty brutal to me. Previously, schedules were made by the manager that got terminated, and then by the assistant manager that is no longer at our store. Now the GM handles it, and he's just awful at balancing it out properly. I don't even think he knows he realizes how he schedules people; last week, he scheduled me to work two different times on the same day...