marry after seven months dating?

jpmartin

I'd normally agree that dating for two years sounds a good time to get married. but my case is a little bit different.

I've dated the sweetest guy for seven months, the relationship goes very well, he's saying I'm his soul mate and he'll marry me one day, and I believe he is sincere.

and now I got an offer from a PhD program 8 hrs away and I decided to take it. My bf can't relocate coz licensing for his job are different in different states. and I can't stay coz I'd a visa situation. I lost my job six months ago and switched to a local technical school just to keep myself legal, there's no jobs in my field nation wide.

Now my bf said he's really sad I'll be leaving, we've talked about I staying here and do a nursing degree instead, but an associate degree will not make me eligible for a visa when I graduate.

I love my bf and wants to be together with him. the only way I could stay here is he marry me. I'm ok to let go my Phd offer and do a nursing instead. I don't know whether I should be upset that he won't mention this option. He is always saying I'm his soul mate and he doesn't want me to leave, then he needs to prove by his action if he really mean it. On the other hand, I understand seven months is really short to make a decision to marry, esp. when you do take it seriously.

yes, i don't know how to feel but I'm sad. but I know I'd have to go for my Phd if we won't marry, I just don't have choices.

I'm not sure if it's as simple as this, but technically you COULD...

Marry him legally, but not with a ceremony or anything, for the purposes of being able to stay in the country. And when you are actually ready, you can have a ceremony and get married "for real."

I've never been in this postion so I don't know if it's a good idea. But it is an option.