Just discouraged and can't get motivated

Hi all,

Six years ago I was making good money at a bank. I have an MBA and finally got the kind of job I'd always wanted, then got ruined there. I left my job and moved to another city. I thought I'd switch careers and started volunteering in social services. I did paid work in that field and it's so little money and so much stress so I am thinking it was a very wrong move.

With the economy the way it is and at the age of 50, I am really too old to try to get back into corporate America. Buh bye decent wages. I now find myself going to community college for a pharmacy tech program as they can't outsource that job and it's expected to grow. The only problem is the money is horrible. I don't know that I want to stand on my feet all day or that I even could. I signed up for the program to do *something* and get out of the house. Problem is I am finding I have zero motivation to do the work and already skipped one of the two nights of class. In my last educational endeavor I never missed class and finished with a 4.0 GPA.

Question - I know I am old now. I know I should have never left my job in banking. Switching to social services was a mistake. How can I motivate myself to learn something that will pay on average $12 an hour? I need something fast, cheap and so I signed up for this course. Thanks in advance.

I don't see why you can't go back to a job in banking - if you look hard enough for a banking job that is. You have experience and an MBA, you're qualifie for some type of banking job. Why do you have to switch careers yet again?