Online Dating....weird to tell friends?!?

spainman_88

I've been using an online dating website for several months now, but have only recently met the first girl with whom I think there's a possibility of it going somewhere beyond a couple dates (not sure yet....or even if I want it to be long term, but thats beside the point)!

Anyway, as I see more of this girl (potentially) there will be questions from my friends/roommate, etc. "where did you two meet?" My guy friends all know that I don't meet any women in my day to day life, that for a long time I've been lamenting the difficulty of meeting women (as they have) etc. None of them know I use an online site, and a couple have talked about how even though they dont meet any women they "would never meet women online" since "its sketchy" and means youre "socially awkward." While I dont agree with them, I know there is still a strong social stigma attached to this. I don't feel bad about meeting women online since I dont meet them at work, etc., but I'm not sure how to address it with friends/roommate since I know they look down on it.

I know I shouldn't care, but for some weird reason its something I dont want to talk about with them....anyone been in a situation like this?

I would just be honest, it's easier that way than trying to maintain a lie about how you met. As Eleanor Roosevelt said, "No one can make you feel inferior without your consent"--in other words, just be confident about it and it will be much harder for them to make you feel bad. Lots of people are dating online now, it's a perfectly valid way to meet new people!

My ex and I met online. Honestly, not many people asked how we met - and those who did didn't seem fazed by it. It's become such a prevalent way of dating that it's really not a big deal.