writing a memoir.

speak

As far as I know it only requires that you have memories. I'm sure that people have utilized even hazy memories and embellished in the thin spots.

I was thinking the same thing. hahahaha

To get it published you just have to find a publisher that is willing to do it. I would have your work copyrighted before you send it anywhere.

I'm not an expert, but from what I know about publishing you have 2 options.

1. find a publisher that will pay you for your book

2. "vanity publishing" -- which is where you publish the book yourself and get a printing company to print it for you. There are many different options in this, some you need to pre-order books and they will print them, there is also "print on demand" where they will print books for you on demand.

The advantage of going with a publisher is that they will pay you and that they will advertise the book for you (i.e. it has a chance to get sold in Borders). The disadvantage is you have to find a publisher to publish the book.

The advantage of print-on-demand is that you can get your book published without the pain of finding a publisher. The disadvantage is that there is no advertising (no Borders, or lots of money).

I believe that Amazon has a print-on-demand service. Good luck.

Years ago I wrote a book on my experiences with job hunting and all the frustrations I had dealt with job hunting and being in a series of jobs that may have been in my field but were not moving me anywhere career-wise. After I wrote it, I got it copyrighted and then I tried to shop it around. I had lots and lots of rejections. Turns out they all wanted a happy ending and at the time I did not have a happy ending to my story because I still wasn't where I wanted to be career-wise. Anyway, the experience of writing it was very cathartic even if it never got published.

but how would you go about publishing and everything...