Feeling Awful, Confused, and Scared. Advice/Help?

SincerelyYours

This is my first post, and I'm really looking for advice.

I have this feeling in the pit of my stomach, the kid you get when you're dreading something, that nervous feeling, that makes me sick. I'm a college student, starting my second year in the fall. All year, especially in the spring, I realized I really liked a girl, who just happens to live close by. I had never said anything, as I didn't want to make a commitment or scare her away, and I thought I would have more time once school had ended, so we're "friends."

I'm spending a day with her soon, and I don't think she knows I like her. I recently received a note from an acquaintance asking me if I liked her, and then found out that he too liked her, and had been thinking about asking her out as well. He told me that he had asked her about me, and said she saw me just as a friend, not someone she could date. I don't know how much of that is true, but I've been feeling awful since then. I don't want to fight over her, or scare her away, and I'm glad to at least be her friend, but I know I really do like her, and as soon as I found out, my hearts been beating too fast, and I've felt awful, couldn't sleep, etc.

What should I do? I'm spending time with her soon, and I wanted to tell her at the end of the day something along the lines of "Hey, I like you, and I want to take you out sometime. If you're not okay with that, that's fine, I just thought I should let you know, and hopefully we can still be friends."

I know that friendship will always be a little tainted. But I don't know what else to do? Should I just let her go, let her be with this other guy?

When I got a reply from her saying yes to hanging out, I felt amazing for the rest of the day, and when I found this out, I felt...and still feel, awful.