How to deal with outsiders comments

lonelygemini

Ok, I have female acquaintances that always make comments about my relationships. Of course, there’s a “problem” with this one too. I have one female true friend, and she doesn’t make judgments about my bf even though she knows more about the ups and downs of our relationship than anyone else.

For my current relationship, my female associates look down on my bf because he’s a student and working temp jobs. I have my degree and I’m working corporate, but I’m comfortable with him because I know his situation. He was taking care of his mom after his dad died and quit school—just like I recently quit a job and moved to take care of my mom after my dad died this past year. I just happened to find a better job within my quick move. After that, he was dating someone and got engaged and was taking care of her son full time while she was working and going to school. After they broke up, he went back to school and started working temp jobs.

These associates have to nerve to ask me “Oh, do you pay for everything?” “How does he make money?” “You can do so much better”. They don’t even know what’s going on and I don’t even want to bother with the details like I gave y’all. The thing they have in common is that they are my age or younger, they either don’t have a man (or they have crazy man problems), and none of them have a degree as advanced as mine and they don’t have a “good job” like me either. Are they jealous?

My mom and brothers are usually blunt about whoever I date, and all they say about him is that they hope he stays on task to finish school. They don't ask who pays for what.

I guess what I’m asking is, how do you deal with the negative comments from associates? I limit my contact as it is, but whenever I do contact the female associates, they always want to put in a comment. I would like to be direct, but not nasty. Thanks in advance.