Just needed to vent after work. For those with demanding careers... How do you handle job stress? I'm a narcotics/K9 officer for the state prison. I work about 60 hours a week. I search incoming visitors for drugs, search inmate housing, vehicles, incoming deliveries and the general perimeter. My dog is also trained to attack. Drugs are everywhere. I am at risk of being exposed to HIV, HEP C, and TB on a daily basis. Most of the drugs come through visitors. They are famous for inserting drugs into their own body. One lady had an infant child, visiting her husband. She inserted a gram of pure cocaine into the infant's rectum to smuggle it in. The dog caught it, saving the child's life. If the bag breaks in there, you die. Seeing stuff like this makes me physically ill. It's sad and stressful to work with felons all day long. All they do is recommit another crime and end up back in jail. The system is faulty and the drugs are endless. People are becoming ill and dying all the time just to chase a high. Sometimes I feel like I make no impact on the drug trade that infests this country... I love my job, but sometimes the stress gets to me. Unlike a regular cop, I get no positive feedback from the people I serve. I don't arrest wife beaters or save kittens. I have never pulled someone from a burning car or stopped a bank robber. I work with convicted murderers. It feels like my effort has no effect at all sometimes. How do you deal with career stress?

wow - that sounds stressful! my job isn't stressful in the same way, but we do have some overlapping stressors, like I am also exposed to many potential illnesses and injuries where I work. i just try to be careful, pay attention to what I am doing, and wash my hands a lot. I try to take an extra few minutes and not do dangerous things if I am sleepy and haven't thought things through.

i guess in your situation, you don't always have a few minutes to stop and think about a situation.