Confused or in denial

Ace88611

This is my first time posting on a forum and I am not sure why I am as I'm pretty sure I know the answers already that I'm looking for. I had been in a relationship with a man that is in the military and we live 5 1/2 hours apart. I know that he has had a very promiscuous past as he has been very honest about it. I spent the summer, the last about 3 months with him at his home. Things progressed with us as we were practically living together, we spoke a lot about the future, things were good. As summer ended and I had to come back to my home about a week ago I noticed on his Facebook profile (yes I know social media the destruction of relationships) that he had changed his relationship status to where only I could see it. Then I found him on tinder. I brought it up to which he initially denied it but later admitted to so I ended things but we continued to talk, because I needed to understand. I know that he has problems with being alone. I don't want to make excuses for him but with that he also has issues with emotions. When I've asked him why I have gotten answers like, he was bored, lonely, upset that I had left, did not think it was a big deal, he even told me he sometimes does things without ever thinking them through. The problem I am having with understanding is that none of this would be going on if I didn't have to come home. As long as I was there he never tried or wanted to be with someone else so I can't understand why his need to have someone around would be so much stronger than waiting. He has told me several times over the last couple days that this has been going on how much he still loves me, wants a life with me, and misses me yet he has no regard for how all this would have hurt me. We had been talking about me moving in permanently but I had to come home to take care of my things and house in order to make that possible so his answer is that if I had not noticed the Facebook we would still be together. I've known