I am not sure what I am supposed to do

Elliephant

Hi all! This is my first time posting, so forgive me if this is a bit long winded. The title of this post is both about my life, as well as my decision of which forum to post this question on, haha.

I am basically a teacher's assistant, and I don't make a whole lot of money. What I love about it, is that the health insurance is great, and I have great hours; whenever the students are off, I am off. I pick up another part time job during the summers.

I went into this initially to start chipping away at my loans while I decided what I want to major in (I have a two year degree), and also because I love children. I was ecstatic when I first got this job. I do not want to be a teacher, but I enjoy working with children one on one and getting to know them.

Lately though, I dread going in so much I can hardly sleep. Usually I will have a drink before bed to ease the restlessness. I have GAD, so anxiety now and then is expected, but this is just stressful.

I am hesitant to go back to school. I feel like an outsider, as I don't have a career I want to pursue or a certain amount of money I want to make. A lot of my friends who have graduated are no better off than I am. I only want a job that will not drive my anxiety up the wall, while enabling me to be financially okay.

A lot of the children I work with are deliberately difficult, day in and day out. I always pump myself up for work and go in with a smile, but by the end of the day, I'm worn down. There is only so much I can do in my position. I'm getting pretty tired of it.

I'm unsure of what to do next. I worked retail prior and did not enjoy that much, but given my current situation, I'd consider going back to it if it paid as much. I'm pretty sure I need a job change, but I'm not sure if maybe I need to talk to someone about my anxiety, as well. Any advice is appreciated.