depression/anxiety before school year starts

scorpion91

It's almost the end of my 'summer break' and I feel a bit of depressed. I tend to get like this at the start of every school year around this time, when I'm alone and haven't interacted with anyone yet. I somewhat have this mentality of an 18 year old student fresh of the boat. Though, I'm 23 years old and I'm a grad student and I live on campus(on campus apartment). I haven't found anyone that approaches me to hang out with them or anything like that. And I'm not a 100% full blow loner, let me clear that up. I do have friends, it's just that sometimes they are busy and such, but whenever I cannot get a hold of someone on my contacts, I feel a sense of abandonment. And I begin to feel some degree of depression that sinks in, I do not know why.

I do feel like coping with this sadness, but going to a bar tonight and having a few beers and maybe finding some new friends near my age(21-23 year old age range). I just want to talk to someone tonight because I keep feeling sad and anxious.

One friend of mine had withdrew from my college over some bs; another friend got evicted from my apartment complex over some drug bs. I wasn't there when that happen, I was studying. He didn't get kicked out of college or anything, just some probation from the school though. Though, these two friends had been close friends of mine I knew on the reg in the spring. Though, I did know other people on campus besides those two guys. I didn't cling to them every second of the day, let me clear that up.

I've dealt with social anxiety and GAD and depression for a long time and dealt with struggling to fit and other bs, a dysfunctional family and a father with PTSD. That's basically all of my psycho-social background in a nutshell.