How can I make him interested in me?

I am a freshman in college. I met this junior guy in the beginning of the school year. I didn't like him at first, but I knew he was super smart and really busy. We became friends and had good time making fun of each other and joking around. But from some point on, I wasn't sure what he meant(teasing and chatting) and I became interested in him. Yet I sometimes could not understand his behaviors. He was extremely nice to me. He would always ask me how things were going and try to help me. But he would never ask my number or screen name. Also, there were several chances we could spend time together, but he didn't take advantage of that. I wasn't sure what was going on between us and my friends suggested me to email him. So I emailed him and told him that I didn't understand his mixed messages because sometimes he seemed interested and other times he didn't. And he emailed me back apologizing for creating this confusion and told me that he just wanted be nice. I was so embarrased and I didn't want to see him again. But since the email, it is evident that he's putting much efforts to make this less awkward. Now I realize how considerate and caring person he is and I am sure he will be a great boy friend. He is smart, cute, funny, gentle, and everything I was hoping for. But in his reply, he seemed tired of committing himself into another relationship after previous long relationship. And I remember him saying he is too busy to have a relationship and in general he is not interested in anything more than friendship at this point. But I just can't give up. I don't expect to date him right away. I can wait.

Should I wait for this guy? or is it impossible to make him interested in me? And if possible, what should I do to make him interest in me?