Waiting to hear from grad school. Tearing my hair out...

Ugh.

Title kind of sums it up. I applied to grad school and have been driving myself crazy going over every little detail of my application.

Pros: 1) Four recommendations instead of the required three. 2) Strong resume. I have several years of experience in the field.

Cons: 1) GRE score, horrible. 2) Personal Statement. I really struggled with it because I am terrible at writing about myself. I just discovered you can check on Microsoft Word what grad level you are writing at and found my statement was at a lower level then I would have liked.

I already have a contingency plan: I have complied a master list of required reading for the main classes and am making my way through reading them. If I get rejected I plan on re-applying detailing the experience.

According to their website I should(have) heard from them anytime between mid March and the first week of April. Any advice on how to keep myself from going crazy?

Yes the waiting is horrible, especially now that most schools notify by email so you feel compelled to just keep refreshing it all day lol. In the interim I'd say try to keep busy. Catch up with friends/family, run errands, deep clean the house, and heck go out of town if you can.

You can also expand your contingency plan. I don't know what you plan to study, but I'm not sure how detailing your experience of reading several books would boost your application the second time around. Are there volunteer opportunities in the field that would help you? You can also job shadow professionals in the field if you haven't already to get more insight on what you want to do.

Yep, even if all your friends and family are like "Of course you got in!" there's still that nagging voice in your mind that says "What if I didn't?"