Struggling Military Relationship

Amanda123

Hi, I want to start by saying that I have never written on a website like this before. By trying this out, I hope you can understand how upset I am. Thank you taking the time to read.

My boyfriend and I have been together for over a year and I was in the happiest relationship I have ever been in, until recently. We are both in the military, on the same base, and have a very close friendship. I trust him completely and can hang with him just as I would with any of my best friends. Not a day passes where I dont do something for him, even if it is the smallest of gestures to make him smile. From the very beginning, he has told me that he plans to switch his military job back to being "Infantry". I didnt care at first because I didnt look that far ahead. Then as we grew into our relationship, I started to think about him leaving more often and still tried to make him as happy as I possibly could, every chance I got, in hopes that he would make some kind of plans for after he leaves... proposal, move in together, something... he doesnt like talking about it. As the time gets closer to him leaving, the thought becomes more bold in my mind that this will end. He has told me many times that the Infantry is no place for a relationship, for he will deploy all the time or always be in the field training. He already works long hours and will work even longer hours in the Infantry.