Not utilizing my college degree. Has anyone else done this?

Hello all,

I am 22, soon to be 23 and graduated college a year ago with a degree in geology. I loved, never changed it once, I love this field with a passion!

When I graduated college, I said to myself "alright, I will get a job with a company and do "geology" things for them and my life will be set"

But what college never told you is that it doesn't work like that.

All these interviews I went on were for jobs that had VERY little to do with my degree but required me to have it!??? Sitting in office all day, writing papers, faxing, is not what my major is about or most majors are about! So I said screw that, that is boring and not my personality!

So I got a temporary job working in a warehouse while I look for a new job, I decided to become a teacher. I can talk about what I love and it fits my personality. Then as I did research, I found out that teachers have to pay for stuff on their own and are limited when it comes to teaching. I will already be making little money as is but then I will have to be spending more? So now I am having second thoughts!

At the company I work for now, one of my managers told me their is a position that is opening up that is pretty much a pre-manager position. So its a promotion.

I have been thinking about taking it so I can finally make more money, move out on my own, and start my life. But at the same time, I will fell SO GUILTY knowing that I wasted so much of my fathers money to go to college and not end up doing what I love to do. What was the whole point then?

Please help me!

College is about more than using the facts you learned about your specific major. It's about critical thinking, learning how to question things, analyze things, learning how to learn. I mean, what do you think philosophy majors do?