LinkedIn Question

Ok, I've got a question about my LinkedIn profile.

I'm a part-time student and was working at a full-time job for awhile (it was a temp position, but longer than most, 6 months). I quit the job because of some health problems which made me unable to handle it and the courses at the same time (could have quit school but since the job was temporary, the school was probably the right thing to stick with for the long run). Anyway, I'm just wondering what I should do on my LinkedIn profile.. I don't want to ADVERTISE the fact that I stayed at the job for only two months, but now it's up there still as my current position and I feel like I'm falsifying things if I don't remove it. I won't hide the fact that I left the job if people ask me. Anyway, I was thinking I would just not edit the profile at all until I get another job (hopefully after Christmas), so if it still says I'm at the position then people will just assume I haven't been on the site to remove it. Opinions?

You could state you were a temp there for two months, without getting into why. Save the why for interviews. Most companies fully understand how temping works so they aren't surprised if the assignment was brief. The fact that you're also in school will also clue them in as to why you may have opted for a temp assignment instead of a permanent position.

Your profile/resume could look something like this:

Temporary *insert job title* at *insert company* from *insert start date* to *insert end date*

*insert description of job and responsibilities you held*

People falsify things on Linkedin all the time. One of my connections who I thought was employed the entire year of 2012 just revealed he has been unemployed since July of 2011. It was revealed because he just started a new job in November and made everyone think he was still working.

So Linkedin is starting to be a joke of a professional site