How to Deal with Demanding Parents? :(

I am in college doing a double major in economics and international relations. I am intelligent and have always been a hard worker. However, I do not live my entire life solely to go to class and do homework.

I just finished my sophomore year and this past semester I studied abroad in Spain. My mother is a native Spanish speaker, so I am fluent. However, I admit that, never having taken any Spanish classes, spelling and some grammar posed some difficulties.

Despite this I did rather well - attended every single lecture, handed all of my work in on time (and not half-assed either), did all the extra credit opportunities that came up. However, because the grading system is different (10% of your grade is attendance/participation, 20% is the work that you hand in, 20% is the midterm and a whopping 50% is the final) my grades were not top notch. I got full marks in all the aspects except for the exams, which I have never been particularly good with. Because of this I ended up getting 5s, 6s, and 7s (out of 10) in my classes. In addition, I need to retake one of my finals because I failed.

My parents are very well educated, both having gone to college and grad school. They expect alot from me and my younger brother. Whilst my brother will be going to MIT, Yale or Stanford next year, I attend a relatively unknown college. Although I am happy with the choice I made, especially since I had the opportunity to study abroad in Spain last semester and am going to France next semester (I am also fluent in French because my father is French) my parents see me as a disappointment.