Embarking on Extreme Self-Improvement Plan to Counter an undesired Life Change?

radiohead20

Hey all,

I am a stubborn 26 year old guy who had issues with shyness/confidence growing up throughout high school and early college and have only started to really grow as a person. What has helped me grow the most by far in these past few years is going out and meeting active social people my age and being adventurous.

I have absolutely no intents to settle down now - however if the right person comes along I am willing. Also, I am extremely passionate about my hobbies (I'm a musician).

There is one huge "problem": My ex-gf is pregnant with my son and I know I have a responsiblity take help father the child. I grew up with some father issues from my father not truly being their and the one thing I swore about is to never deny my kids an involved father figure.

So now I am at this painful crux in my life:

-I am single, independent with an adventerous spirit and am not where near the point where I want to settle down with kids/family. I am constantly evolving and improving by meeting new people and new experiences. I have been fully invested in my hobby (music) for the past year and am making good progress and do not want to stop.

-I have a son coming and I feel as I cannot do what I have been doing with a kid, but know I have a responsibility and I don't have a choice.

So, being the stubborn ass I am, I want both. I know if I neglect my passions and don't grow as a person, and just live for my son, I am most likely going to become overweight, plain, and "settled". I know if I am not there for my son, I am also going to regret that in 20 years.

I don't want regrest in my life so I feel like I have to be able to do both. somehow.