Moving in versus marriage.

nimisaj

Depends on many factors. If you are older, I think moving in first is a bad idea. When I was younger (22) I moved in with a guy. At first it seemed cool because he was older (36) and I felt mature. In hindsight the good thing was that I can say I lived with someone. Also, I saw what he was like instead of marrying him. I lived with him for a year. Later on I moved in with someone else for about a month. I never seriously considered marrying either one.

Now though at my age (39) I've made the decision not to live with someone until we get engaged. I know too many people who lived together for years, and never married.

I have no experience, but I am a geek so I read a lot of studies and apparently, couples who have lived together before marriage are more likely to fail than couples who move in after they get married. This is all theorized, but they think it's because couples who move in before marriage sees their relationship as a test drive and don't get out of the mentality once they're in the marriage. They expect to do less work than couples who move in together after marriage.

I have no experience, but I am a geek so I read a lot of studies and apparently, couples who have lived together before marriage are more likely to fail than couples who move in after they get married. This is all theorized, but they think it's because couples who move in before marriage sees their relationship as a test drive and don't get out of the mentality once they're in the marriage. They expect to do less work than couples who move in together after marriage.

I read those studies too, although the studies said that once a couple had lived together for 8 years and then got married, their marriage failure rate was the same as people who got married first.