Any Gynecologists in the House?!

Hi all,

I'm new to birth control, but I would really like to start using it. My gynecologist gave me a low dose birth control, Yaz, to treat my cramps during my period.

I've never used it though because I tried to control my cramps by trying to exercise, and it worked! My boyfriend and I want to have sex, but I want to be on birth control. I should be expecting my period soon and I know that's what you take the first pill, but I need some answers first.

I know Yaz has A LOT of controversy about it being very risky. Are these risks true about depression and blood clots? I understand there are risks to all birth controls, but I feel like Yaz has a reputation for being the worst. Anyone have any experience with it? Also, I read horror stories online. I just don't know what to think, so I'm very nervous to start using it! Please let me know the truth about Yaz!

Thank you!

I am not a doctor.

I also heard about Yaz being risky.

When it comes to risk of blood clots that is if you have predisposition for it....I hope your gyno asked you a lot of questions to access that risk before prescribing you a pill (any kind of contraception pill....). Also I hope she checked with you if you're a smoker.

I can't use it because I have a mild case or varicose veins (barely visible, but they hurt when it's hot in the summer). So such a small problem made me react to a contraception pill after only 2 days of taking it with my leg hurting like hell, so i called my gyno and she said to stop using them immediately explaining how she thought I am too young and healthy to experience that problem with such a small veins issue. So be sure your gyno was careful enough. For them prescribing pills is something of a routine because majority of the women do not experience grave side effects so they are not paranoid about it like you might be as a first time user.

If you distrust your current gyno try to make another appointment with someone else.