Communication after a break-up

HI! This is my first time writing on these things after spending many years reading them for advice. I need some really good input here because I am at a loss here.

A quick background on the scenario: I am a 24 year old girl my ex is a 25 yr old male. We began dating when I was 20 and he was 21. Our relationship has been on and off since then. We broke up 3 times and go back together.

We have always had communication in between us dating and it was obvious he always tried for us to work out again. I had another boyfriend in between for a few months but recognized it was a rebound and ended it shortly after.

This past go around of us dating for 5 months he flat out told me he didnt know what he wanted and wasn't sure if he loved me. I saw the signs of him not being as into as he was and felt hurt and ended it this past Dec. He begged and begged saying he loved me and was just nervous I didnt love him and now he knows that I do, He wants it to work and will do anything.

Well long story short I felt anxiety ridden and like he wasn't into me either ( he would still have contact with his ex all the time, he said talking on the phone daily wasnt for him)

I finally faced it and asked him what he wanted he said I sounded like I wanted to break up. I cried and said fine, because I didnt feel happy and knew it wasnt what he wanted.

Since we broke up feb 23rd 2009 He has emailed me twice asking how I am and texted me asking how I was. I didnt write back because I feel as though A. I have nothing to say to him. B. I am working so hard to get over him and get back to myself and feel good about me C. Pist off over the pain I went through to get over him the 3rd time around.