Compulsive nail biter!!!!!!!!

I need help.

I compulsively bite my nails. And when I say compulsive...that is NOT an understatement. I have a nail that won't even grow anymore..it's disgusting! I have pretty hands otherwise and when I have acrylics on, my hands are beautiful! But, when they are bare, holy cow...my hands/nails are wretched.

HOW DO I STOP?

I've tried fake nails then getting manicures when the nails grow out, I have tried bitter stuff on my nails, I feel like I have tried it all to no avail.

I am so sick of being embarrassed by my own fingers. I also work in the food industry, so when I hold my "book" *the mini binder thing that I keep all my tips, orders, etc in* and take orders I feel paranoid and try to hide my fingers. The way I hold everything is to take a precaution to the pain that my fingers have from biting.

Someone help

Why is this advice so easy for everyone to give? It's a LOT harder than you think.

It's not easy but it's called common sense. Right now I feel like playing checkers but I won't because I gotta practice on my typing speed for my job. If you think about, any bad habbit is possible to control, you just gotta have enough of the ''No I will not bite my nail'' will power reinforce within you.

Hi

I have been a nail biter since very young age...

I think you need to find a way to let out stress/anxiety/frustration, even boredom, in a more better way.

Self discipline may work...

if you catch yourself biting your nails... tell yourself off... and if you get urges... try real hard to resist...

if you do resist... treat yourself.

Addiction...just gotta break it.

Good luck.