this is my first time posting, but i've read a lot on this site and i'm really hoping to get some advice from people who have experience with this! to put it quite simply, i've discovered (by accident #-o ) that my boyfriend of 3 + years is planning to ask me to marry him this christmas. while i love him very much, i'm just not sure if i'm ready for such a big step. here's a little background on us:

We started dating while I was still in high school and he was just about to graduate (he's just 4 months older than me). he left to go to school just a few months after we started dating, and for the majority of our first 2 years together we maintained a long distance relationship. for the past year and a half, we've lived only about an hour apart, both in college (we're both 21, i'm a junior and he will graduate in may). although not my first boyfriend, he is certainly my longest and most serious relationship, and i am very attached to him. we've been through quite a few ups and downs, including 2 "breaks" for a month or two each, but both truly care about each other and enjoy being together. in some ways we are very similar (interests, basic values, and views on having a family), but we are also very different in many ways (family background, views on money, and academic ambition). we do our fair share of fighting, but have gotten pretty good at resolving our arguments and never stay upset with each other for long.

over the years, we've talked both casually and seriously about getting engaged. he is an officer in the military, and i think this makes him want to move faster in our relationship because he doesn't know when he could be deployed. i'm very close to his family, and they have always welcomed me as "a future member of the family."