Can I be a bartender if I'm not as talkative as most people?

I really want to be a bartender. The thing is, I'm a pretty laid back mellow person and I'm not sure if I'd make it in this business. I used to be shy as a kid, but I'm not anymore. While I don't get shy around new people anymore, I still find it difficult to make small talk with people at times. It's usually hit or miss; sometimes I'll get along great with someone I just met, sometimes I just go "yep, yea, wow, uh-huh" and smile because I can't think of anything to add to the conversation. People usually love me once they get to know me, they think I'm the funniest and weirdest guy they've met. Its the initial getting-to-know-me phase that's tricky.

I have a bachelors degree in fine art, but since that is freelance based, I need a regular job so I can do my art on the side. I've been trying to figure out what I could pursue as a second career, something to fall back on if the art thing doesn't work out. Bartending has been the only thing I've been excited about. I just love the atmosphere and variety from day to day. I can't see myself sitting in an office all day or doing physical labor in a warehouse.

I also thought it would be good for me to bartend because I'd be forced to make conversation with people and it could improve my social skills. I just question whether or not I have what it takes to be a good bartender, especially since I have very little customer service experience. Do you think you have to be super sociable and funny to get a job as a bartender?

I also thought it would be good for me to bartend because I'd be forced to make conversation with people and it could improve my social skills.