Mardi Gras: The more they talk, the less I want to go.

My friends are taking me down to see Mardi Gras. They say they've always had a blast (they've been to it at least 3 times) and the more stories I hear about their past Mardi Gras trips the less I want to go.

I work in the criminal justice field, I'm not a party girl, I don't drink(I'm the default designated driver every weekend, the first alcoholic drink I ever had was in 2003 when my bf told me he wished I drank more alcohol to fit in better with his friends- so I tried it and didn't like it), and never done drugs. A big part of not drinking or doing drugs is because I can't do these things and ethically maintain my current job.

The stories I've heard revolve around them getting drunk to the point of yacking in MacDonalds cups, laying down in urine/yack stained streets, getting their pants urine/yacked stained all the way up to the knees to the point where they had to throw their pants away after the festival ended, having to take a friend to the hospital because he'd drunk too much- they found him passed out in the shower laying/drowning in his own vomit, and a lot of other bad hotel stories.

I'm the mother-hen of my friend group and I'm afraid going to Mardi Gras with them is just going to bring out this mother-hen at its worst and my friends will hate me afterwards.