Attention to detail

Are you good at attention to detail?

I'm not.. I'm more of the big picture. However, sometimes in my job I have to be very very very attention to detail.... and I'm not that good at it. I miss ridiculous things.

I try reading through things a million times... but sometimes I find it hard to sit down and focus... which is why I could NEVER be an actuary or accountant.. or anything like that.

I forget little things, don't see number, certain words etc

It's hard to ask people who ARE good at it what they do, because if it were as simple as following a procedure then it would be problem solved.

I've asked people who are good at it before and while it seems simple for them, my mind just wanders easily.

What I'd like to hear is from 'reformed no-paying-attention-to-detailers' and how you could change?

Asking someone who is good at it, hasn't in the past been much help, because they find it easy.

Although I understand it, I'd be useless in helping someone with public speaking in front of 100's of people, because i find it easy and do it all the time.

Anyway, enough of my blabbing.. how can you help it if your attention to detail/numbers is not good?

I get down to the 1/32 at my job. Nothin but cherry work. I take pride in my craftsmanship....

You get out of life what you put into it...

sorry but what's getting out of life what i put into it got to do with my lack of attention to detal??

It sounds like you think it's just something that is easily changed fi you 'work hard' at it??

Take micro breaks. 2 minutes focus, 1 minute off.

Also, review work you did 10 minutes before. That way you can check for those obvious errors.

yeah I do.. all the time.. then I see these obvious errors afterwards.. and it's frustrating...like i add up to single digit numbers wrong.. even though I read it 127 times. Sometimes at work I have strict time deadlines too..