Handling Stress

I've recently started a new position at my job, I took over as Manager. Not something I ever saw myself doing but then I never thought I be a salesman either.

I find it hard talking about it as I feel like its a bit of a cop out, hence I'm doing it anonymously here. I am stressed. I don't think I should be stressed as its not like I'm a Policeman or something. I'm just a Manager with 8 or 9 staff under me including 2 other Salesmen.

Basically I feel like I have the shakes, I'm not sleeping right, I want to go to bed at 9pm, my libido has gone out the door, I am waking up at 3am, I feel like I'm regularly on the verge of tears, constant stomach ache, I'm not talking to my GF as I just want to blob in front of the TV when I get home, I constantly, constantly crave nicotine but am trying to substitute caffiene instead.

If it makes any difference, my GF & I quit smoking 3 weeks ago.

I need to be able to manage things a bit better otherwise somethings going to give & at the rate I'm going it may be the GF first.

I think its about 2 things...quitting smoking is a huge adjustment for your body and your mind...you took your main way of dealing with stress out of your life and then added more stress with your new job....

I think you need to find new coping mechanisms...Meditation is amazing for stress...Yoga is great (yes guys do Yoga!!!)

I would maybe suggest taking 30 min before you go to bed to write out all that you have to do the next day, any concerns, deadlines, issues etc and make it a point to leave your worries on the paper (do it outside of your bedroom-make your bedroom sacred) Go for walks to clear your head-fresh air is great for stress...

Is the TV in your bedroom because studies show that having TV in your bedroom interrupts your sleep...

Have grace yourself you have had 2 major changes...

Congrats on quitting smoking!