I don't have a best friend, or even any really close friends, anymore.

Religioux

Back in high school (I'm now a sophomore in college) I had a group of friends, three girls, who I was pretty close with. We were all pretty shy, introverted people with odd interests (anime, video games, etc) not shared by many others. But once we went off to college, I drifted away from them for various reasons. Since college, I've met a few people who I've been friendly with, gone out to eat with, hung out with, etc. But no one who I could consider a "best" friend, or even a really close friend.

It just depresses me because it makes me feel like there's something wrong with me socially, like I must annoy people or something. I don't know. What's strange is, once I hit college, I gained a lot of confidence and actually have a lot of guys interested in me. It's not hard for me to find a boyfriend or anything, but...what I miss, is a girlfriend, you know? A close female friend, who I can be silly and feminine with, joke around with about sex, go out to lunch with...all that jazz.

I don't know how to fix this. Is there a way to put more effort into things, without scaring people off? I feel like appearing desperate for companionship is a real turn-off for people. But I am lonely. Having a boyfriend helps, of course, but it's not everything, nor should it be in my opinion.

Any advice? This lonely girl would appreciate it.

Are you involved in anything? Sports? Clubs? Co-workers? People at church? The options are many and you're bound to find someone you can hang with.

And if you still can't find someone, (sorry if this sounds silly), but may I suggest getting a dog?