light weight training for a beginner who wants to get big!?

puny_guy

Hi all!

So I finally joined the gym and didn't really know where to start out. So the guy you runs the place put me on a light workout plan to begin with.

I forgot most of the names of the exercises right now, but there are 8 of them.

Leg Press- 20reps of 80lbs

Crunches- 20

benchpress- 15reps 60lbs

There are 5 other exercizes too but I forget there names. Anyway they involve barbells and some other things.

Anyway the point I'm trying to make is, well it's too easy! WHY WOULD HE WANT ME TO START OFF SO SLOW!? I heard that to get big, you gotta lift big!? Why would he start me on such a light workout plan? I reckon I could leg press 120lbs. I've never done any gym work before but I want to get BIG! What should I do, stick with this easy plan or what? Thanks guys

if yuo start too fast you will pull something and then youre done for a long time. spend your extra time stretching, doing besides you need some type of defined muscle structure to grow into with the heavy weight and doing the light weights will get that for you. your trainer is doing his job.

Yep - idunno is right - and it's also getting you used to doing the exercises correctly where he can watch your positioning and such and give you pointers if you're breaking form, BEFORE you move on to something heavy where that could mean a torn ligament or muscle, or a sprain that could be weeks to months in healing. After both you and your muscles are accustomed to the various exercises, he'll step you up to where you're building, but you need to condition and get proficient first.