Bored with life - feeling lost...

eviljedi

Hey, recently I've been feeling bored with life. I've been depressed on and off for a little while and I feel like the reason is because I can't see a positive future for myself.

I'm 20 years old and I'm currently at university, although the course I'm studying isn't something I feel passionate about. I've already dropped out of another course previously and I just feel kinda lost and unsure what to do with my life.

I feel like every option leads to sadness/boredom.

E.g. If I drop out of university and get a job it will most likely be a boring desk job or something that you need zero qualifications for.

If I continue and graduate university I will then get a job doing something I dislike and will just be working for the money.

Even when I think about doing something I might like it starts to become too predictable. Get a job - move out - get married - have kids....yadayadayada.

I think maybe the reason I've been switching courses and so forth is because I'm looking for some excitement and less predictability, but I don't want to mess up my whole life just because it seems predictable.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

eviljedi

I know what you mean. I keep switching programs at school and that makes me feel like I'm gonna be stuck in college for the rest of my life only because I don't know what to do with it. It's kinda like, you don't want to be disappointed 30 years down the road because of what you chose as a path.

I'm not very good an giving advice, but this is what I can offer: Try taking some sort of complementary class that gets you out of your comfort zone. It's really exhillarating to complete something new, something you've been afraid to try out before.