Trying to find closure, but still holding on to hope

I am a college-age student that was dating a girl a year younger than me. We had been dating since mid-September and everything seemed fine. Our relationship wasn't perfect of course but I thought we were managing obstacles well and we had quite a few deep, tough conversations that I was happy we were able to talk freely about. Thanksgiving rolls along and while we weren't able to see each other since our hometowns are quite far, we still expressed our thankfulness for each other. The next week we go on a few dates and while she seems stressed about schoolwork, I just figure it is because it is near the end of the semester. Then on the Thursday after Thanksgiving break she texts me saying she has a lot going on right now and it's just overwhelming her, she didn't want to talk about it but just needed space. I told her I understood. On Friday, I showed how much of a fool I was by deciding to show up unannounced at her favorite study spot on campus. I should've checked with her first, but I intended to study at the library anyway. She let me sit with her but I could tell she was in a bad mood. Later that night she texts me saying we have to talk. We start talking and I take the opportunity to apologize for showing up like that earlier on in the day. She said it wasn't an issue and she was just super stressed, and not just about school. She found out over break that her dad was diagnosed with cancer. I didn't quite know how to respond but I let her know I'd be there for her. After a bit more of talking it made it pretty clear to me that she was breaking up with me. She eventually said "I think we need to do a sort of a break up kind of thing". It hurt, and I could've reacted better. I didn't throw a full blown tantrum but she could tell I was mad. She said it wasn't anything I had done. But I just felt helpless. I had so many questions but just didn't know how to word them. She said if I had questions in the future