Do I have a problem?

elleon82

I used to be a great straight A student. When I was about a junior in high school my grades starting dropping and I couldn’t focus on any school work. Nothing new in my life or any problems were occurring. The concentration levels just weren’t there anymore. I was an athlete, ate well and overall very healthy and health conscious. After that year my parents divorced and my mother and I moved back in with my grandmother. I switched schools and finished my senior year. I would relate the concentration to the divorce but I noticed the problems long before the split. (It was a long time coming. This was not to my surprise and was for the better) I am now in my second year of college and as I am typing this I am supposed to be studying but I can not. I will read flash cards, watch YouTube videos, print worksheets, even tried to come up with some silly songs to remember or understand but nothing works. Anyone I have ever talked to about this says it is because of the divorce or that I am not trying hard enough. I want to give up it is so frustrating. No one believes me when I say I think I have a deeper problem. I have been seeing a shrink who put me on anxiety meds if all kinds for the past year but that doesn’t help either. Is it ADHD or ADD? Please help!

I think at this point you might just have a case of a short attention span. Maybe the stuff you were studying was boring. Outside of learning reading and writing and math, there's little else you'll use in real life. You should do something you like to do and see if your concentration is fine when doing that.

Failing that, you can see a doctor to prescribe you some Ritalin. That's the drug of choice for college kids. Or you can try some herbal remedies like Gotu Kola, Gingko Biloba, Ginseng and others. You can also try energy drinks, coffee or colas to sharpen your concentration.

Hopefully, you'll find out what works to get you through college.