When is it appropriate to ask for a raise?

Maddyb12

I recently hit my two year mark at one of my jobs, I've received one raise about a year and a half ago because I received a promotion but it was a very small pay increase. I just hit my two year mark and at all my other places of employment I received a pay raise when I hit marks similar to that. I was wondering it would be appropriate to ask for a raise and if so how much. My performance is consistently praised and I have never receive any sort of write ups etc.

Any year without a raise is effectively a pay decrease due to inflation. I'm a contractor and we tend to have a bit more leverage than employees, so take into account your own individual circumstances, but I'd ask for a raise yearly. However, if you want a raise that goes beyond the 1% - 2% inflation rate, be prepared to propose and defend why you feel a raise is justified.

It really depends. Are you getting a market related salary at the moment? Are you performing a somewhat critical function in the company?

I'd say go for it and ask for a raise if you're underpaid.

If you are getting a market related salary then wait a bit more, focus on delivering more of that great quality work. Learn more about the business side of things and see where you can improve processes. Lastly, document everything in the next year, what you've tried to improve on in the company, where you've tried to take initiative. Use all of this in the next year or two to negotiate a better salary.