Have you ever longed for someone that you shouldn't? How to move on?

writer5

I've been longing for a girl I met 2 years ago right before the summer.

We were both 21 and our birthdays were both in August.

When I met her I didn't think anything of it. She was back visiting from college and I was just in town.

Basically, we come from a small city in the Midwest so there's not many places to go.

We were both at the local bar and she asked me a few questions but then she told me she had a boyfriend. So I didn't even ever picture us together.

As the night and the drinks went on, we bumped into each other and she told me to try her drink.

I said "No thank you" because I don't like sugary alcoholic drinks and I was already pretty drunk at the time.

I was about to walk away when the next thing she said was "You're cute... Let's make out."

I couldn't resist. We talked the whole night and went to my friend's house after (since we were both staying with our parents.)

We decided to go for a walk at 4 in the morning.

Her and I stumbled down the avenue holding hands and kissing. I got her phone number and we started texting. A few nights later, we went out for drinks and I ended up hooking up that night. I saw a picture of her and her boyfriend on the nightstand as we left her room. She dropped me off in the morning and I left town. She stayed.

I coincidentally went to the town where she went to college (it's a state school where a majority of people from our hometown went) to visit a friend. We went to a bar. I couldn't believe it. I saw him. I saw the guy who was in her bed stand picture. It was her boyfriend.

I couldn't believe that I was standing in the same room as him knowing that I'd been with her the night before.

I'd see her again 4 weeks later in my hometown. I'd wake up to her in my arms after drinking all night. We shared drinks, laughs and stories. We went to movies and held hands.