I'm easily attached.

TheChosenOne1

So i'm new to this whole thing. I usually don't tell anyone anything. Not even over the internet. but i'm trying to make some changes in life and i figure this could help.

I'm not comfortable disclosing my age, so lets just say early 20's. I live in the United Kingdom. oh and i'm male.

My problem is that i find myself getting attached to people EXTREMELY easy, I don't know whether it's related to bad experiences with my mom not doing well in marriage when i was younger. or whether it's because i've never had a serious relationship, but always wanted one. I guess it could also be stress from work, (I'm in the British Army) As sometimes i feel like i need to tell someone my problems but don't have anyone to turn to. I guess i could tell my family, but then i would appear weak. and to my family i have always been a role model, or a rock to them. However being a rock to so many people means i cant tell people stuff, which in turn makes me extremely lonely. So i guess the loneliness in my job and home life could also be a factor in this attachment problem.

So i'm not sure why i have this problem. This is one of many problems i have, but this is one of the most important to me. I guess a few examples could help?

A few years back, i met this girl through a family friend. She was amazing. we dated for a month, but at the time i found myself worrying too much on her, and not my own career (i was in the midst of joining the army) So i called it off, respectfully of course. Ever since then i have had the odd 'one night stand' or the odd, short, relationship. And everyone i've been in these short relationships with or had these 'flings' with, I find myself getting attached very quickly. It worries me.