Getting better little by little

Hey everyone, I've been posting on and off here for about two months now and a lot has changed since the break up, and I wanted some advice about where I am at now.

I broke up with her because of a situation that deeply upset me, and for a long time I felt she didn't really love or appreciate me, she knew all this but chose to walk away instead of work it out and reassure me, she knew I over reacted and still wanted her. This is all old news and I've accepted it, took a long time to do that though.

I've finally gotten to a point of where I'm not checking her social media and don't call her or text her, I think about her much less often too. I genuinely don't want to know anything or talk to her because it could hurt me or set me back, and being away from it all completely has helped a lot.

However, I still get these cringes of emptiness and sadness, not so much about her anymore, but the void in my life. How I don't have that person to call and tell my problems too, or go do couple style things with, like I love ice skating, movies, going out to dinner, walks and other stuff. I also miss having someone who cared about my well being and where I was, how I was feeling, etc.

The person itself doesn't matter so much, she is gone and it was her choice to stay away not mine, so I don't miss her specifically; she had a lot of negative qualities that looking clearly now I can see I don't want around me.

So I wonder, where do I take my healing from here? I don't have a lot of friends to fill the gap, and my family is absent due to distance. I am back in school and work out, just kind of feel like I'm doing the motions and each day is a repeat.

The anxiety, missing of the ex, and all that has gone. Just don't know how to truly enjoy being single. And that's what I need help with, I do see friends occasionally, and have a good room mate who keeps me company. What else can I do to spice my life up?