I want her back, but I need advice - help!

I need some general advice about my ex girlfriend, and also about myself. I'll start by giving a quick background of the situation. I am in 3rd year of uni, and during first year I lived with a girl in my halls who I immediately fell for, we properly clicked and everything came so naturally, she is from London, which is 200 miles away from where I call home, but we visited over summer etc. Everything was great until second year, we lived round the corner from each other, but due to her not getting along with her housemates she spent all the time with me. Throughout second year I was having a horrible time in my own life, my financial situation took a massive decline, a family member was diagnosed with terminal cancer, and due to both of these I couldn't enjoy the social side that university offers. I was seriously down for the majority of the year, and this seriously affected our relationship, as I was holding really tightly onto her and I guess you could say being a bit controlling. This reflected in the way we were around each other, and our sex life became almost non existent. It came to the end of the year and she suddenly wanted lots of space and sort of had a secret social life at uni that she refused for me to be a part of. It didn't sit right with me as I needed her around whilst I was dealing with the family illness. We ended up going on a break for a couple of weeks, before she realised she still wanted to be with me. A couple of months later we broke up, as she said I had treated her so poorly throughout the year and that I didn't make her happy.