depressed about work

phasegirl

I've been working at my same company for 13 years - in the same role, despite my growing in my education.

Several years ago, I was going to leave but my boss was fired, and I thought this would give me the opportunity to make my new boss see my skills and promote me. Instead, to make a long story short, this nasty woman was hired over me - she is one of those she-males who think that by acting like men, they can be like CEO's. I won't go into details but she is just nasty, plain ol' nasty.

The time came when several manager's positions opened up, but this she-male basically kept asking me to do stupid work where I couldn't show my skills to the new (higher) bosses. Also, she started to talk to the new boss about promoting another worker (one who came in 7 years after me). This other worker is a guy and ironically, so are all the other workers who report directly to her. (She has never hired another female in a management's role).

I wont' go into any more details, but eventually, after my trying very hard to get a manager's position, which opened up, she managed to get the guy promoted into that position, and now I have to report to this person (on top of she-male and others). Where once upon a time, I was reporting directly to a CFO, I am now reporting to a middle manager without management experience. It is quite humiliating to be honest.

I am very resented at the she-male for putting me in a position (like answering phones), where I couldn't show my skills. When I went to talk to her about how I felt, she told me that she thinks that I am in a glass ceiling and that I need to do something about it.

I would love to leave, but I am finishing my masters degree which my job is paying for. But still - I feel like crap every time I have to go to work.

Does anyone here feel that what I'm feeling is normal? I am trying to change my attitude but I'm finding it very hard to deal with this crap.