Boyfriend's family constantly bugging me about minor issue - how do I decline?

Natasha24

My boyfriend's family is really nice, sweet and caring. The only issue I have with them is that they are constantly asking me to go swimming/hot tubbing. I know this probably seems minor to a lot of people, but I recently lost some weight and I'm just learning to feel comfortable with my body. The last time I wore a bathing suit was in elementary school. I'm just not that comfortable with my body right now.

They bother me about it every time I see them. I have tried different reasons (I don't have a bathing suit, I'm tired, I don't really like swimming/hot tubbing), but they still badger me. They don't understand because they are all very comfortable with their bodies - which is great for them, but they just don't get it. It makes me uncomfortable and awkward, and I dread hanging out with them now because I know they will ask me. I guess this is their "family pastime", and it just makes me uncomfortable. I've tried explaining it to my boyfriend, but he says "It's just a bathing suit, who cares?"

How can I politely decline, without getting into a whole discussion about my body issues? They just don't understand the notion of "I don't want to strip down to my undies infront of my new boyfriend's family". This happens about twice a week now and it's causing me a bit of anxiety.

[Like I said, I know this will seem minor to a lot of people. But I recently went from 160 lbs to 120 lbs and I'm not yet comfortable with how I look. I won't even wear a bathing suit infront of my own family or my closest friends. Also, please note that I'm currently dealing with depression and anxiety, which is why this probably upsets me more than it should]

Tell them you have a contagious skin infection! haha.

Oh gosh. Well, first off, congrats on the weight loss. that must have taken a lot of hard work on your part and that is great!! I'm sure you look awesome.

Do they have a pool or hot tub?