24... no clue if I've chosen the right career.

iswim18

I am 24 years old and graduated college nearly three years ago. Many things happened throughout my college career and I basically feel as though it was just a mess. I wasn't really sure of where I was going or what I was doing so I decided to major in Spanish. My major is something that I actually enjoy and it has given several opportunities to travel around the world and to become immersed in something I love- language. But, in terms of career choices once I graduated, I was very limited.

One thing that I was told I could do over and over again was teach. And I did teach for a while in Spain. While I was over there, I realized that I didn't particularly like teaching. I don't like public speaking- I can do it but it's not my forte. I felt as though I wasn't good at explaining things to my students and I lack classroom management- all keys areas in education! In the end, I felt as though my experience with some of the children was actually HURTING them more than helping them. Not literally, of course, but I just felt as though someone could probably do my job better, so I ended up quitting.

Once I moved back to the States and back in with my parents, there was that nagging question about what I was going to do with the rest of my life. To be honest, for a while now, I've wanted to become a journalist. I love writing and I always have. But, that career choice at this point in my life isn't "practical." I need to make money. Once again, the prospect of obtaining a teaching credential was suggested to me. Despite my past experience with teaching, something pushed me ahead and now I'm on that path.