3 years, a rebound, and a death later...

maggieMAE

Hello everyone. After posting on other forums, I found this community to be a bit more offering in support and sharing ideas besides the usual "MOVE ON, NC, RAH RAH RAH!!!!" So I have to share my story. I don't know what kind of advice I'm looking for, but simply just getting it out can help. Bear with me as it's kind of long. I'll keep it as short and sweet as I can. Just a quick sidenote, we are lesbians, in case that changes anything.

We were together for 3 years. After the first 2, things started to get pretty rocky. She wasn't giving me what I needed, and I voiced this often. I also pulled away, tried to break it off, and was very resentful that her friends and partying were at the forefront of her priorities. One side of me wanted a bigger commitment and more love, but the other side of me tried to accept that she just likes to party. I stayed away because I'm a student, I'm 25, and I'm kind of out of that stage of my life. I usually only got about 1 day a week of her time, and that was such a big shock after spending 2 years together constantly. But I do admit, I don't know which came first; the on again off again cycle, or her pulling THAT MUCH away. Regardless of our problems, we agreed and shared an intense attraction and love. It was equally as good as it was bad, give or take. I love her with all of my heart, and she was a best friend of mine.

I know I can be needy, but I don't place a negative connotation on that. I just enjoy sharing my life with my lover, not meeting up once a week to share what I've found from life. I want to experience it together. And I was very ticked off that my lover could go so long without me. We'd have plans, and she wouldn't show up until 3 or 5 hours later. Or she'd cancel, and I was so fed up with it that I know I got rather *****y because of it. But regardless, I knew she was the one I wanted.