Odd Love Triangle

GymSweetie

My exboyfriend broke up with me 6 weeks ago. He got a new girlfriend immediately. That hurt. He said he wanted to continue to be friends and be there for me while I go thru divorce/sep.

Since then, he has clearly continued to flirt with me and send signals that he is still interested in me.

I studied body language because I was confused about what his double-talk & mixed messages really meant.

Last nite, I responded in kind to his flirting (body language) & he actually verbalized that he knew I was flirting with him. And responded by giving me a hug.

He then said that my niece who's 18 yrs younger than me is also a flirt & that it must run in the family. He almost seemed disgusted that we both were pursuing him while he is seeing somebody else. ugh!

So, I can't get it off my mind that my niece who has been my confidont is moving in on someone she knows I still have strong feelings for. He probably has been flirting with her also. He is such a flirt!

Any advice on how to handle this odd mess?

You're right, he is a flirt! So he goes around flirting with girls and gets put off when they flirt back? So does that mean he gets turned on when the shot him down?

If you are going to get back together better tell him to quit it with the flirting.

With your niece, I have a feeling if you just make an off-hand comment that you and this guy are still serious about each other and are maybe getting back together the flirting will stop, at least from her side. But I wouldn't get confrontational about it because it might cause a fight. That would be really awful if you lost your confidant and your niece over a guy!