Tough Time at Internship

Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone had any advice/words of encouragement.

I started an internship about a month and a half ago, and it's been kind of up and down. I'm in college pursuing a degree in Communication, and I'm an unpaid intern at a local Chamber of Commerce. (I've only completed one prior internship for my AAS degree, at a newspaper, and I enjoyed working there. It was a half hour away, but when I was done, I was done for the day.) At this office, there are only two people: The President and her Admin. Asst. who has been there for a few years.

This internship is a little different. I am doing a little writing here and there, but they are also giving me a good amount of admin. support work, which is sometimes good and sometimes bad. I'm good when it involves answering the occasional phone or doing things on a computer.

Last week I stuffed about 200 envelopes for various mailings. When I came in today, the President showed me how to fold some of the envelopes because she had to go back and redo about 40 of them herself because I folded them wrong. Now she was pretty nice and everything, and I was very apologetic, and I told her I honestly don't send much snail mail, which she laughed and said she understood.

Today I was counting up and gathering bundles of flyers were sending out to all the elementary schools in the area. Each school has a different number of sections for the flyers they receive, I assume by classroom. Right at the end of the day, the President caught that I had miscounted one school. She knew I was headed out so she said not to worry about it since it's not really time-sensitive.

I'm the type of person who feels bad about these mistakes I'm making. I know it's part of being an intern, but I can't help but thinking the two of them probably think I'm the worst one they've had. I have a 3.75 gpa, but I feel like an idiot when I'm there sometimes, and I still have another month and a half to go.