Break up with girl I live with

AFuchs17

I live with my girlfriend of about 1.5 years, but I think it's time we break up. I am a veterinary student and I believe this relationship is a huge factor in why I almost failed out of my first semester. After repeated talks about the things about our relationship that bring me down, she hasn't made an attempt to change her ways in the slightest. She is a great girl, but she is needy, clingy, and has zero motivation to do anything but sleep on the couch when I am not around. Honestly, I worry a lot about her when I am not with her (she is probably depressed, although she says she is not and will not see anyone when I suggest it), and this is a HUGE distraction to my studies. I am afraid that I will fail out of school if we stay together.

A few questions about how/where to go from here. If you have broken up with your significant other that you also lived with in your past, I would love to hear from you.

1. Should I wait until my next break (May)? Is this going to take even more time away from my studying? Or, will breaking up now and trying to move in the middle of the semester be a better option than sticking around and trying to overcome the distraction of our relationship?

2. What are some things I should know about breaking up with a girlfriend I live with? Should I find a different place first? I know she will not move fast on finding a new place. I am willing to try to cover the costs of breaking the lease...my biggest worry is being too distracted by this ordeal and wasting thousands of tuition loan dollars and my dream of being a veterinarian in the meantime.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!