Immigrate to Australia/NZfor work/study from the US?

LaKings55

Long story short, I'm struggling on multiple fronts here in the US. I graduated from school in 09 with what a degree in a field that is increasingly difficult to break into, city planning. I truly have no interest in pursuing that career path, but my degree has also proved worthless in pursuing elsewhere. I was fortunate enough this past year to travel extensively throughout Australia and New Zealand, and had nothing short of a wonderful experience. I truly feel more at home there. I've traveled many places, and this is the one part of the world that just clicked for me. So, I've become interested in pursuing an education and/or a career in that region. Have any other Americans (on this forum) pursued this? I know from research that these countries prefer "skilled" migrants in high-demand fields, but I assume being college educated from an English-speaking country can't hurt my chances. I do know of a few people who have recently moved there and are not working in "skilled" areas (one is a bartender). So, any fellow Yanks with experience dealing with Australian immigration feel free to share your thoughts.

Well, I don't have a degree, and have no intention of living outside the US.

From my professional experience, a college degree teaches you time management & how to learn. I have many colleagues that received degrees in misc. fields such as religious studies, philosophy, etc, and their jobs don't have anything to do w/ their education.

It essentially just gets your foot in the door by showing you're dedicated. Just my $0.02