Feeling Extremely Depressed

Tique

I have been feeling extremely depressed for some time now. So long in fact that I can't remember when the feeling first started. I just find myself going through my days getting sadder and sadder. I don't know exactly why I am feeling this way, I guess it's a number of reasons. I've been wanting to go to a shrink so I could get some professional help, but I can't afford any. So, after searching online for some time, I finally found this site. I see that you people give some good advice, and I'm hoping you can help me.

I don't know where to start. I feel worthless, like a big failure. I'm currently in my final year in university, studying Media and Communication and this is my final semester. The thing is, I am so not happy. I don't know why I'm studying the media, I feel I am no good at it, and the people I am around just seem to underline this fact. I am tired of people saying to me, "oh you're in the media??? but you don't seem like the type. you're so quiet" or "you're so shy" and the like. It just makes me feel bad in myself. Naturally, I am a quiet person, and I do admit, I am shy, but I think I am a shy beacuse of all the negativity that is thrown at me. I'm shy because I'm afraid to open myself and be ridiculed. I take rejection (and I guess this is general for everybody) to heart. I think on things that people say about me so hard sometimes that I get down all the time.

Anyway, back to my degree. When i first started the degree I was wondering if I was cut out for it. In my head media is for the glamorous people, and I don't consider myself to be glamorous. Nevertheless, I decided to go on with the degree. Media was my second choice, you know, something I'd do in case I got turned down. Originally I had chosen Literature as my first choice,. Not because I love the subject, but because if anything I could go and teach.