NEVER lend "friends" money/ major vent

Moontiger

I have a situation that I am so frustrated with I need to vent and I think this is the best place to do that.

I graduated from college in May. During my last year I lived with three girls one of whom ( I’ll call her Lisa) told me she was not going to move home but stay in the area. I was planning to do the same so we decide to find an apartment together.

We were planning on moving in with one other person and things seem to be moving along just fine. Lisa had a hard time finding a job but eventually got one. The problem was she was not going to have enough money to make first month’s rent plus her half of the deposit.

Because she now had a job and we were going to be living together I told her I would loan her the money and she could pay me back. Then…

She backed out at the last minute. The other girl and myself moved into the apartment and Lisa swore up and down I would get my money. Fast forward to four months later and I haven’t received a dime! There is ALWAYS an excuse as to why she cannot pay. I have started calling/texting her a lot about it.

I heard from Lisa’s best friend that she goes out drinking every night after work. Here is the math I have worked out: If Lisa buys one drink each nigh that’s about $6, times 7 nights a week equals $42 a week, times four weeks in a month and that equals $168 a month. She could easily pay me back and just hasn’t.

Finally I got so feed up I texted her this, “Lisa, I have been waiting for four months for you to pay me back. I really hate to take it to this level but if I do not receive something from you by the 30th I am going to contact your parents. I need you to start paying your debt. Any amount you can send to start paying is fine.”