Stress / pressure from parents, and I want to be independent

nexpl

I have a lot of stress lately.

I'm too old to have the problems I have; I cannot drive, I am kind of stuck in college. I am finishing my second master's--this is in engineering and my first was finished in the fall of last year, last semester, and is in math. I work as a TA at the school and I live with my parents. I am 25 years old. I've never had a job outside of my research and teaching in college. This pays for my classes and I also own a cell phone and I pay for that as well (I got my first credit card last year and am trying to build credit). (I have tried to start being independent by obtaining the cell phone / credit, which is why I mention it.)

I feel very trapped. The biggest problems to me are the not being able to drive and living at home with my parents. As for the driving situation...I became very busy and didn't have time for it in late high school (I took some AP classes, then went into college immediately after). Transportation was through riding with a family member, my brother, or carpool in some cases. I know this looks very bad. I am not sure how to obtain a driver's license at this point, as I'm not in high school for a driver's ed course, and for the last few years, my parents have been unwilling (stressing that they're not unfriendly...just unwilling) to teach me (really the only people I could ask). In either case, I am aware that this is my problem and not the responsibility of anyone else. I'm just not sure how to go about fixing this.